User Login | FTP Login | Privacy
Careers | Contact Us

Home » About the Clearinghouse » Leadership


The National Student Clearinghouse® has a longstanding commitment to being a trusted agent and partner to the secondary and postsecondary institutions that we serve, as well as the education finance industry, government agencies, and other organizations that rely on our services.

In order to ensure that we continue to provide information and services that meet the needs of the nation’s education community, the Clearinghouse seeks insight and guidance from our boards of directors and advisory committees, which represent multiple disciplines across the constituents we serve. Under the direction of our CEO and president, the Clearinghouse’s knowledgeable and accomplished executive management team is responsible for all operational areas, services, research initiatives, and client support.

Management Team

Our senior management team is comprised of experienced and dedicated professionals committed to providing high-quality services to the organizations that rely on the Clearinghouse.

Ricardo Torres

Ricardo D. Torres
President and CEO

Mary Chapin

Mary Chapin
Chief Legal Officer

Doug Falk

Doug Falk
Chief Information Officer

Mike Ketcham

Mike Ketcham
Chief Financial Officer

Roberta Hyland

Roberta Hyland
Chief Data Officer

Bridget Sedlock

Bridget Sedlock
Chief People Officer

George Levathes

George Levathes
Vice President, Compliance & Operations

Larry Hatch
Vice President, Industry & Workforce Services

Dr. Doug Shapiro

Dr. Doug Shapiro
Executive Research Director, National Student Clearinghouse Research Center

Boards of Directors

Clearinghouse Board of Directors

The Clearinghouse is governed by a board of directors comprised of a cross-section of the constituencies that it serves, including representatives from educational institutions, educational associations, and the education finance industry. The makeup of the Clearinghouse’s board reflects its status as a trusted, neutral, and reliable source for educational information and services.

Clearinghouse Research Center Board of Directors

As the research arm of the Clearinghouse, the Research Center is governed by a board of directors who are experienced in higher education, including education research and policy.

Advisory Committees

The services offered by the Clearinghouse have been provided at the request of our participating institutions to enable them to better serve their students. Our advisory committees meet several times a year to provide feedback to the Clearinghouse on ways to improve our existing services and recommend new areas of development.

Clearinghouse Advisory Committee

  • George Levathes, Ex Officio (Committee Liaison) – Vice President, National Student Clearinghouse
  • Robert Fitzgerald, Chairman of the Committee, University Registrar, Brown University
  • Kelly Brooks, Registrar, Capella University
  • Ingrid W. Hayes, Vice President for Enrollment Management, Spelman College
  • Louis D. Hunt, Jr., Senior Vice Provost for Enrollment Management and Services and University Registrar, North Carolina State University
  • Elias Lopez, Associate Vice President for Academic Resources, Sonoma State University
  • Rebecca Mathern, Associate Provost and University Registrar, Oregon State University
  • Audra McQuarie, Vice President and Registrar, University of Phoenix
  • Leslie Quinn, Registrar, Johnson County Community College
  • Dr. Kenneth Ray, Jr., Vice President, Student Services & Enrollment Management, Hillsborough Community College
  • Paul Robinson, Associate Vice Provost and University Registrar, University of Michigan
  • Ann Yater, Assistant Vice President for Student Records, Ivy Tech Community College

Data Access Advisory Committee

The Data Access Advisory Committee guides the Clearinghouse in its use of data as a neutral information provider, reviewing the Clearinghouse’s data system, security policies, and role in research analysis. The committee is comprised of education professionals who have extensive experience in student database management, research, and risk management.

  • Doug Shapiro, Chairperson – Executive Research Director, National Student Clearinghouse Research Center
  • Chris Broughton, Executive Director, Bottom Line
  • Archie Cubarrubia, Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness, Miami Dade College
  • Shane Karcz, Director, Office of Enrollment Research, Northeastern University
  • Jillian Klein, Director, Public and Federal Aid Policy, Capella University
  • Christina Whitfield, Associate Vice President, State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO)

National Student Clearinghouse Tree Logo


The mission of the National Student Clearinghouse is to serve the education and workforce communities and all learners with access to trusted data, related services, and insights.



To be a premier resource in serving and supporting the opportunities created by lifelong learning.